ARKP Episode 12 – Do We Want More than Just Idol Music?

This week’s events have brought the show down to a bit of a sad note, but I hope you don’t let that stop you from enjoying the show as usual.

Download link for Episode 12


  • Teddy Riley breaks off his working relationship with DR Music, details to follow in the upcoming press conference.
  • LeeU leaves F.cuz
  • Brown Eyed Soul’s Naul talks about his plans of marriage to actress Han Hye Jin this year or next year.
  • Beats by Dre releases a limited edition Tiger JK version to honour the hiphop legend.
  • STARSHIP Entertainment debuts their first band, Boyfriend.
  • Secret releases a teaser for their comeback.
  • Legendary Songstress Baek Jiyoung returns with her 8th album and the title song, Average
  • FT Island returns with Hello Hello
  • Former member of Stony Skunk releases Teasers for his new ep, Korean Reggae

    Don’t Walk Away
  • The Return of former H.O.T member Dancing King Jang Woo Hyuk to Kpop with Time is [L]over

The more unfortunate news was the suicides of Announcer Song Ji Sun and former SG Wannabe member Chae Dong Ha, our hearts go out to their families and loved ones in this time of bereavement.

Our free talk this week circled around two articles, one a TV Daily Interview with Untouchable in which they discuss the dominance of Idol/Catchy music on the charts and the other criticizing the Korean media’s overhyping of the Hallyu wave.

Our Artist Spotlight this week was on the Duo As One. Consisting of Korean-Americans vocalists Lee Min Young and Crystal Chae, they made their debut in 1999 with the following song:

Some other examples of their music include:
Day by Day


Opening Song: Jang Woo Hyuk – Time is [L]over
Insert Songs:
Boyfriend – Boyfriend
As One – Loving You
Closing Song: N-Train – One Last Cry

Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

ARKPop Podcast Episode 12 – Do We Want More than Just Idol Music?