Dominos Pizza in Korea – Is It Vegan?

Dominos Pizza in Korea – Is It Vegan?

It’s good to know that being vegan doesn’t mean you miss out on eating take-out food with your friends; And when you don’t have time to prepare a home-made pizza, there are other options.

Dominos offer 4 types of pizza crust. The only vegan-friendly crust is the Thin Crust. It doesn’t contain any whey or other nasty dough additives as you can see here or at the bottom of this post.

My suggestions: When you order be clear that you don’t want any cheese, but you do want plenty of vegetables. Usually the chef will think it quiet novel and service your order. But some places may think you’re nuts- I’ve been flat-out told that it’s “not possible” and more than once I’ve been advised against it. If you reassure them that you’ve done it before and that you prefer it that way, they’ll comply.

But if possible, visit your neighbourhood pizza joint first, they may also prepare a crust without any animal-additives and it’s always nicer to support local businesses. However, in South Korea it will require some language skills, or at least time with your smart-phone translator.

Ingredients in Dominios Thin Crust pizza base: Flour (Wheat, Malted Barley), Water, Soybean Oil, Yeast, Salt, Dextrose, Leavening (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Corn Starch, Monocalcium Phosphate), Calcium Propionate (Preservative).

Ingredients in Dominos Tomato pizza sauce: Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Sugar, Salt, Spices, Garlic, Soybean Oil, and Citric Acid
A savvy vegan in South Korea
 Everyday life  *  Health  *  South Korea  *  Links & Likes  *  About Me